Early Years Foundation Stage

If your child attends another pre-school as well as TRACKS autism, you may be aware of the early years foundation stage (EYFS).

In addition to working to support children with autism and related communication disorders, TRACKS also works alongside mainstream settings in using the EYFS which is a national framework for the 0-5 age group.

The EYFS acknowledges the uniqueness of each child; it ensures that all under fives in childcare benefit from a safe, secure and happy environment where they can play and develop.

We track the development of your child through close observation which leads to individual planning for each child. We record these observations in your child’s Learning Journey which is available at TRACKS for you to look at and discuss with your child’s key-worker at any time.

The seven areas of Learning and Development in the EYFS are listed below (you will see these areas referred to in your child’s Learning Journey) and are broken down into three prime and four specific areas.

The prime areas are fundamental, work together and support development in all other areas:

  • personal, social and emotional development
  • communication, language and literacy
  • physical development

Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge to support participation in society:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

All of these areas are as important as each other and often overlap. At TRACKS we understand how each child develops at different rates in different areas and we work to support each child in personalised, active learning.

Contact us

Contact enquiry or speak to someoneā€¦